The China Rose

Verdad for Todos

New Avatar

with 2 comments

What a toy I’ve found!

My best friend and I used to play paper dolls. Wish I could remember the specific ones we used. (Maybe she knows. She’s a Facebook friend, so I can ask her). No different than creating avatars — though the avatar is totally personal and that’s what makes it fun. When I played with paper dolls so many years ago, it was a different world. There were 5 acceptable girls names, 1 dress code, 3 approved hairstyles, and 1 approved skin tone. A little like the fundies still do it, you’re thinking.. Exactly.

Playing with paper dolls was a derisive comment I use to hear from someone I once knew who had inordinate power over my life (yeah, it’s a long story, too long to relate right now…) Anyway, this person was a hater of art, fun, and creativity and TG they are way way out of my life (and have been for ages).

Anyway, Yahoo Avatar was addicting and fun. I see I somehow selected the Angelina lips. Oops. (My lips are actually shrinking… That’s a long, nasty story also. Aging sucks. Don’t do it…) and the wrong color hat, but – it’s pretty close to what I wanted. (My favorite gardening hat used to be a hot pink cap with a long bill. Until I got buzzed by several hummingbirds, which can be unnerving. Kept hoping they wouldn’t mistake my ear for part of that hot pink flower).

This is only my first. I’m planning to create my nerdy navatar next…

Bookmark and Share

Written by chinarose

December 12, 2009 at 12:35 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I too was obsessed with paper dolls when I was little! I think that I still am even now because every dream I come up with includes a paper doll as a promotional item! I was saddened when my own little girl had very slim pickings in the paper doll department!
    I’m having my cup of morning java but will reply to your emails after I catch my buzz…………….

    linda

    December 12, 2009 at 3:56 pm

  2. Welcome Linda!

    Now I’m thinking I loved the paper dolls b/c they were utterly flat & blonde — my ideal look at the time.

    Your daughter will no doubt create avatars in place of paper dolls. And love it!

    chinarose

    December 16, 2009 at 5:30 am


Leave a Reply

