The China Rose

Verdad for Todos

The Poetry of William A. Cook

with 5 comments

http://www.drwilliamacook.com

I saw the pictures children drew at Terezin last March when I delivered a paper at a Prague conference. Yesterday I saw a picture of a Palestinian woman, old and bent, weeping as she watched Sharon’s bulldozer demolish her home. The children’s pictures jumped to mind; the thousands of drawings, hidden in Terezin, are the only evidence of their existence. Mothers, the old women lured to Terezin by the Nazis on the pretext that it was a care facility for the elderly, and the Nazi Commandery allowed the children to draw, a way to express how they felt about being herded like cattle, crowded into dark attics and cellars, separated from their parents before they were transported to Izbice, Maly Trostinec, Sobibor, Majadanek, Treblinka or Auschwitz. For Terezin was a transport town….



Bookmark and Share

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful and I don’t want to spoil it because I happen to know what the majority would say since many survivors say it now.

    linda

    January 6, 2010 at 5:54 pm

  2. Of course, this is poetry. It’s rhetorical, not actual. The capacity for self-deception is not included in this account. Nor is greed, revenge, apathy, selfishness, nor the Z disease…

    chinarose

    January 9, 2010 at 5:30 am

  3. Even as only rhetoric. I sometimes feel that it is poetry such as this that keeps the flame of victim hood going though that is not the intention clearly. It backfires every time. If art and poetry can’t reach them, then they are unreachable.

    linda

    January 9, 2010 at 9:25 am

  4. I believe poetry has its place. There are many, many people who can’t be reached by poetry, but to me, there are valid reasons for it. Someone, maybe only 1 or 2 people, MIGHT be affected and get involved in the struggle.

    This poem validates the connections between 2 holocausts; it reaches out to people who are confused, stunned and shocked by lethal hypocrisy, and it creates awareness that there are others who are seeing that hypocrisy. The more that people are exposed to the truth — in any form — the better.

    IMHO, poetry is important. My experience is that it takes many little epiphanies to create a major epiphany that will bring about a changed mind and heart.

    chinarose

    January 9, 2010 at 1:04 pm

  5. I think that I agree with you. I know that I agree with you! Its just very painful to see things like this because I allow the negative diseased types to destroy my perception at times. I also know that many who read this and relate directly to the holocaust are saying, “Not in my name”. I have to remember that more often.

    linda

    January 11, 2010 at 12:45 pm


Leave a Reply

