The China Rose

Verdad for Todos

Noam Chomsky’s Message to Viva Palestina

with 4 comments

The Viva Palestina convoy arriving at El-Arish, Egypt

“Just picked up your letter. Very glad to hear from you. I was concerned that I hadn’t heard anything since your last letter. Despite the media blackout, which is a disgrace, this is turning out to be a really spectacular triumph, I think, and it’s hard to express properly my admiration and respect for those who are directly engaged.  It has to be a shot in the arm for the people in Gaza, and might stir up some opposition to the dictatorship in Egypt, which is exposing its brutality daily — to everyone except the US media (hope it’s better elsewhere). And I think a lot of people are going to come back home really invigorated. Good luck in what lies ahead. Noam.” (Reference for text: Message from Noam Chomsky to the Viva Palestina convoy members on their way to Gaza. Photo: Viva Palestina.)         — Palestine Chronicle post


Bookmark and Share

Written by chinarose

January 6, 2010 at 8:21 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi China Rose
    You know, I thought Chomsky was going to join the marchers and don’t understand why he didn’t. However, at least he is being verbal about his support. The media blackout is outrageous. I actual emailed BBC America and they did a short 20 second piece that night. Because of me? I doubt it. I think that many like me must of emailed as well. I told them to have “courage” .

    linda

    January 8, 2010 at 5:53 am

  2. Chomsky has his limitations. I’ve never actually heard of him getting directly involved in ANY demo. Tenure, you know. His support is almost always verbal, and I think its main value is intellectual. Of course, he should have been there. Seems like Galloway is one of the few courageous leaders in this struggle.

    chinarose

    January 8, 2010 at 3:24 pm

  3. Galloway reminds me of the great Irish patriot and revolutionary Roger Casement. He fought for decades to stop genocide in the Congo & Peru, and to free Ireland from British tyranny. He spent his entire life fighting oppression.
    Naturally, the British government accused him of treason, and he was hanged — in spite of massive protest.

    chinarose

    January 8, 2010 at 3:37 pm

  4. Hi, thanks for the comments. I think there will be more and more aid convoys to Gaza. I think it will expose the oppression and suffering Palestinians are enduring, not just in the recent past, but going back 60 years. I don’t think Israel will be able to suppress the truth anymore of the holocaust they are perpetrating against the Palestinians and there will be an awakening to their true nature.

    chinarose

    January 16, 2010 at 9:42 pm


Leave a Reply

