The China Rose

Verdad for Todos

BOYCOTT THE SUPERBOWL & READ A FREAKIN’ BOOK!

with 4 comments

In Theory of the Leisure Class, the prescient and brilliant analysis of American society, Thorstein Veblen devotes a chapter to “Devout Observances.” He’s not referring to Lent, Hanukkah or Kwanzaa, communion, sacred processions or reading the Bible. He’s referring to this nation’s obsession with sports, which at the turn of the LAST century was already proving to be a “secular religion.” The book was published ca. 1900.

Sports as a diversion from reality….
Here’s an interview with a contemporary social critic with a similar message.

Mark Dice’s The Resistance Manifesto

Bookmark and Share

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That is what I did, and I knit a bit too. I’ve been doing that for years. Hated that damned day since I first became aware of it. Do we really need an excuse fist pump the air while watching more commercials and drinking ourselves into near coma? Even playing air guitar is more sophisticated than that!

    linda

    February 8, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    • What are you knitting right now? I’m working on cabled wrist warmers, a giant i-cord (destined to be a felted “rag rug”) and a Malabrigo star-stitch neckwarmer. Need all the above to get thru this miz’able winter!

      Got another great idea from Rav – a mens’ scarf made from 3 knitted i-cords! What could be simpler? I’m thinking I’d prefer it in natural tans, beiges and golds — to actually look like rope. Pretty masculine stuff, maybe too much?

      chinarose

      February 9, 2010 at 12:38 pm

  2. I’m knitting a hat (for the Gaza children) and I had to finish up all the belated Christmas presents (all hats, 5 hello kitty and one plain one). But I took up spinning too and now I need to make a teddy bear! From my own homespun after I dye it black.

    linda

    February 15, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    • You are still making Christmas gifts? Dedication! I didn’t know you were a spinner too. Hope you will post teddy bear pics on Rav…

      chinarose

      February 26, 2010 at 12:06 pm


Leave a Reply

